Neko

February 22, 2024 @ 11:02 pm


The Hermit/Happy Birthday Lily

It's Lily's birthday and I tried to call, but was told everyone was sick and stayed home from school. They are celebrating on Saturday, so I will try again then. I'm busy right now trying to get everything in order for my new job starting up, which is tough to do when you've only got $34 to your name and still have to buy clothing for an appropriate uniform. I found my old non-slip service shoes in the bottom of the shoe bin, so that's at least one less worry off my mind, but they have holes in them thanks to that no-good raccoon who used to come hunting around my back door for food. I just prey nobody notices and I can make it until I get paid to buy a new pair. It seems I have many things to worry about lately- mental health, money, my home life, aging parents, children, divorce. My mind is never really at ease these days. I feel like a dried out husk of a person sometimes and have nothing to do but try and restart my life over.

I've been falling into a real rut and have spent most of my time consuming media by the masses, having not much else to do in the meantime. I can usually be found acting like your stereotypical hermit- reading a paperback, an ebook, manga, listening to an audiobook, or watching an anime, simply anything to make me feel good or get my mind off things going on around me. I keep chatting with people on various websites in some attempt at social connection, but in all honesty, it doesn't feel the same as way back when. I may sound old, but it felt as though everyone was connected in more ways before social media became a thing. You usually found a spot and stuck to it. Now, it feels like everyone is everywhere and nowhere all at once. People become blurred and boring and everyone seems the same.