Neko

December 22nd, 2022 @ 8:10 am


I hate starting over

Busy making cookies, very last minute to hand out to coworkers and friends on Friday (our last shift before Christmas). M finally spoiled her gift to me (it's a robe from Victoria's Secret and hand sanitizer holder from Bath and Body Works)...though she said that she also ordered something via Amazon and I haven't figured out what that is yet. I ordered her a card from Walmart and might attach a gift card onto it, but I'm not sure. M is definitely the type of person who is hard to shop for because her tastes are so high (in quality and expense), and if she wants something, she'll go get it herself rather than ask someone to buy her the thing. I like that about her, and adopted this mindset myself over the past year I've gotten to know her (ok, ok. I still enjoy gifts! Just would rather buy myself shiny expensive things rather than depend on someone else's dollar). She claims she doesn't want a gift and would rather give than receive, but she's done so much for me already, I figure I could at least show my gratitude with a nice message.

There's still so much to do and I haven't really been home to do any of it, hence why it's all so last minute. If I'm not working, I'm either asleep or visiting the girls, and my house looks like a raccoon's paradise because of it. I haven't even touched on packing any of my stuff up yet... I also haven't figured out how I'm going to tell M or my work that I'm planning on moving yet either. A big part of me feels guilty that I'm celebrating with all this in mind, but it's understandable that I would want to move to support my kids. I'm going to miss the place terribly and everything I've built up there, but maybe I can cement a position I like at another warehouse, and with my excellent wrap sheet, references, and leadership experience, I'm sure it wouldn't be too hard. The hard part is letting go, realizing something you like isn't forever, and starting over again.

I hate starting over.